Mr Weis’ Classroom Blog

February 22, 2010

Balance

Filed under: Announcements,Homework — mrweis @ 8:23 pm

A delicate sense of it, that is.

Being a teacher has taught me a great many things, but most commonly I’m privy to new revelations about what can actually happen when all the variables are factored in.  There are only so many hours a week, so many pages, words, equations, discussions, and times for reflecting when I ultimately realize that not all the ideas always fit on every page, every time, in the way I originally imagined them to turn out.  Editing is a constant process, and so here I am, writing a rather cryptic apology for not updating the blog so much as I have wanted to lately.  Besides the endless hours I spend on preparing lessons, evaluating student work, and researching new educational methods and ideas, the blog has remained an important possibility in my mind. I see it as a great communication tool, and I’ve gotten lots of positive feedback on it in the past.  Surprisingly to me, I get about 300 hits a day, many through google searches on topics I have done previous posts on.   I did a better job at updating it almost everyday last year, but especially with the multitude of additional commitments I have taken up this year, it has become unrealistic to put quite so much time into it right now.  So, for the upcoming few weeks I will be doing things a little differently.  You can expect brief daily updates on homework assignments and maybe 1 or 2 more in depth posts a week about what is going on in the classroom along with some links to web resources. I’ll see if that works out, and then reevaluate after a bit.

I still have some exciting ideas about a better web interface, but that will have to wait a bit until I can manage to translate some of those ideas to html.  In the mean time, I hope the blog still provides a helpful resource for my students and their families.

Homework:

  1. Vocabulary: Sort – Leg, Mod, Biblio, Jud
  2. Mathematics: Study Link 8.2 – Adding fractions and mixed numbers (like and unlike denominators)
  3. Language Arts: Sign of the Beaver Chapter 10 worksheet  – Due Wednesday
  4. Reading Log: Read for 25 minutes and write predictions in Reading Log

Mr. Weis

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

